Buon Appetito: Turkey Burgers

Aside from fashion, I LOVE food and enjoy cooking and trying out new recipes whenever I have time. I want to be able to share my latest creations with everyone, so I’ll be doing some food posts every now and then. Sometimes they’ll be my own recipes and other times, I’ll take them from somewhere/someone else.  I hope you enjoy them!

I decided to make turkey burgers with cheese and caramelized onions and a side of baked potato wedges the other night. I had NO idea how good they were going to come out! Just look at these pictures!!  My fiancé (who’s not easily impressed) even told me that I outdid myself.  It’s now on his top favorite things that I make 🙂

turkey-burger-recipe

Recipe:

Servings- 2

Turkey Burgers 

Mix the ground turkey meat (I used half regular and half all-white meat so it was a bit leaner) with a bit of garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste, and 5-7 drops of hot sauce. Divide into two equal patties. Heat grill pan to medium-high heat and cook both sides for about 5 minutes each.  Add American cheese (as many slices as you’d like) for the last 2 minutes. Serve on toasted bun with frisee lettuce, sliced tomato, and caramelized onions.

Caramelized onions

Chop half an onion. Heat olive oil (enough to cover the bottom of the pan) to medium heat (you don’t want to burn the onions). Add onions. Cook for about 10 minutes. Add salt and a pinch of sugar. Let it cook for another 20 minutes.

Baked Wedge Potatoes

Heat oven to 450 degrees. Cut 2 clean, scrubbed, Yukon Gold potatoes in long slices to form wedge-shaped potatoes. Mix wedges in a little bit of olive oil, Kosher sea salt, and pepper. Place on baking sheet and bake in the oven for about 20 minutes.

BUON APPETITO!

3 thoughts on “Buon Appetito: Turkey Burgers

Leave a Reply

