Reader Question: “How do I pull off red lipstick?”

kristen-bell-red-lipstickMichael Tran/FilmMagic via InStyle.com

Q: I love the look of red lipstick for the upcoming winter season, but I am not sure how to pull it off without looking cheesy. Any advice? -Lauren

A: Great question! I, too, love a bold red lip to complete a look. However, I personally think that a red lip doesn’t necessarily go with every outfit you put on, so I like to treat my colored lip as another element to my outfit. This means, keep your outfit simple with not too much color and don’t overdo it with accessories- your red lip is already an accessory.  That being said, brighten those lips up with a more muted, understated colored outfit like whites, blacks, tans, and grays for that extra pop of color. When picking out the perfect red for your complexion, avoid shiny, shimmery or glossy reds- keep it matte. Don’t be afraid to visit a beauty counter and try on different shades until you find the one that goes best with your skin tone and that you feel comfortable wearing.  Tip- use a liner that exactly matches your red lip color for a more defined look. Try MAC  or Makeup For Ever for great red shades.

Have a style question? Email me at InTrueFashion {at} gmail {dot} com

This entry was posted in Beauty, Q & A and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reader Question: “How do I pull off red lipstick?”

  1. This is great advice. I have been searching for the perfect red lip colour for ages now, I think I found it in Chanel Rouge Allure but you are right, the red lip is an accessory in itself, and it doesn’t work with everything… I love it most when I am wearing a simple black or white dress.

    http://www.styleonthecouch.com

  2. Love the Red Lipstick advice! I cannot wait to try it on my own. I love a Bold Lip with a simple eye make-up look. It makes me feel Glamorous and Sexy!!

    Jamie
    http://www.FashionistaMusings.com

  3. Carly says:

    Totally agree..I often find it really spices up a basic oufit..like all neutrals, greys or black/white.
    Thanks for the tip!
    C

Leave a Reply

